Death Cab For Cutie ~ Transatlanticism

Death Cab For Cutie ~ Transatlanticism

Death Cab For Cutie ~ Transatlanticism

Transatlanticism is the fourth studio album by rock band Death Cab for Cutie, released on October 7, 2003, by Barsuk Records. At this point in their career, the group had toured and recorded for nearly a half-decade. With tensions rising, the band decided to take time away from one another; notably, Ben Gibbard collaborated with electronic musician Dntel (Jimmy Tamborello), and released an album, Give Up, under the name the Postal Service. Death Cab regrouped in late 2002 to create Transatlanticism, which was recorded in a leisurely manner over five-day stretches until June 2003.

The record is a concept album, exploring a theme of long-distance romance. Gibbard penned the lyrics, which are somber and focus on the need to be loved. Musically, the album utilizes ambience and instrumental sparseness as an extension of this theme. The album's title, likewise, references the Atlantic Ocean and uses it as a metaphor for geographic and emotional separation. Chris Walla, the band's guitarist, produced the album as he had for its predecessors. The album's artwork was created by artist Adde Russell.

1 The New Year

2 Lightness

3 Title and Registration

4 Expo '86

5 The Sound of Settling

6 Tiny Vessels

7 Transatlanticism

8 Passenger Seat

9 Death of An Interior Decorator

10 We Looked Like Giants

11 A Lack of Color

Send a Message

An email will be sent to the owner

Contact the Mousehole...

Follow Me