Decemberists ~ Picaresque

Decemberists ~ Picaresque

Decemberists ~ Picaresque

Picaresque is yet more proof that the Decemberists' Colin Meloy is the songwriter who loves love—especially when it ends in death, ("We Both Go Down Together," "Of Angels and Angles"), disease ("The Mariner's Revenge Song") or in some other tragic way. This CD spends some time in the band's familiar old Europe setting, although Meloy also touches on politics, espionage, and even soccer. (Proving he knows his fan base, Meloy's "The Sporting Life," is the perfect shout-out to the kids who preferred the library to the gym.) Long-time fans will know what to expect from this album, which compares favorably to the other LPs on their catalog, and with Death Cab for Cutie's Chris Walla on board as producer, the band seems poised to reach the greater audience they deserve. If you're not already a listener, don't wait another second to become one. With their remarkable vocabulary and bawdy-yet-literary imagery, the Decemberists are guaranteed to make you smarter even as they make you weep. Pop this in your CD player, grab a dictionary, rock and learn.

1 The Infanta

2 We Both Go Down Together

3 Eli, the Barrow Boy

4 The Sporting Life

5 The Bagman's Gambit

6 From My Own True Love (Lost at Sea)

7 16 Military Wives

8 The Engine Driver

9 On the Bus Mall

10 The Mariner's Revenge Song

11 Of Angels and Angles

Send a Message

An email will be sent to the owner

Contact the Mousehole...

Follow Me