Jack Johnson ~ Brushfire Fairytales

Jack Johnson ~ Brushfire Fairytales

Jack Johnson ~ Brushfire Fairytales

Brushfire Fairytales is the debut album by singer-songwriter Jack Johnson. It was released in 2001 through Enjoy Records, a label that was later renamed Everloving Recordings.

The album's primary musicians are Johnson (vocals/guitars/piano), Adam Topol (drums/percussion) and Merlo Podlewski (bass). It was produced by J. P. Plunier, recorded and mixed by Todd Burke, with assistant engineers Andrew Alekel & Chad Essig. It was recorded near Hollywood and Vine just north of 6400 Sunset at 1520 N Cahuenga in Los Angeles at Grandmaster Recorders (formerly Bijou Studios in Hollywood), King Sound, and mastered by Dave Collins.Guests include Tommy Jordan (steel drums on "Flake") and Ben Harper (slide guitar on "Flake"). The single "Flake" was Jack Johnson's first.

In a retrospective review by The Quietus, reviewer David Bennun credits Brushfire Fairytales with helping to popularize a strain of "sensitive [and] authentic... indie-folk" that would later lead to artists such as Ed Sheeran, Passenger, and Mumford & Sons.

1. Inaudible Melodies
2. Middle Man
3. Posters
4. Sexy Plexi
5. Flake
6. Bubble Toes
7. Fortunate Fool
8. The News
9. Drink The Water
10. Mudfootball (For Moe Lerner)
11. F-Stop Blues
12. Losing Hope
13. It's All Understood

Send a Message

An email will be sent to the owner

Contact the Mousehole...

Follow Me