Miles Davis ~ The Essential

Miles Davis ~ The Essential

Miles Davis ~ The Essential
2 CD

The Essential Miles Davis is a 2-CD compilation album by Miles Davis released by Columbia Legacy on May 15, 2001. It belongs to Sony Music Entertainment's "The Essential" series, and was re-released as part of Sony's Miles 75 Anniversary program. In 2008.

Trumpeter and bandleader Miles Davis was a major catalyst for the evolution of modern music. This two-CD set--with tracks from the Savoy, Capitol, Blue Note, Prestige, Columbia, and Warner Bros. labels from 1945 to 1986--is an excellent sampler of his limitless creative genius. It features a who's who of the greatest names in the music: drummers Max Roach, Philly Joe Jones, and Jimmy Cobb; bassists Paul Chambers and Ron Carter; pianists Red Garland, Bill Evans, and Herbie Hancock; and alto and tenor saxophonists Cannonball Adderley, John Coltrane, and Wayne Shorter. Davis's middle-register trumpet accommodated a myriad of styles, from the bebop classic "Now's the Time" to the Snow White waltz "Someday My Prince Will Come" to the modal masterpiece "So What" (from Kind of Blue).

Disc: 1

1 Now's the Time

2 Jeru

3 Compulsion

4 Tempus Fugit

5 Walkin'

6 'Round Midnight

7 Bye Bye Blackbird

8 New Rhumba

9 Generique

10 Summertime

11 So What - Miles Davis feat. John Coltrane, Cannonball Adderley & Bill Evans

12 The Pan Piper

13 Someday My Prince Will Come - Miles Davis feat. John Coltrane, Hank Mobley, Wynton Kelly, Paul Chambers, Jimmy Cobb

Disc: 2

1 My Funny Valentine

2 E.S.P.

3 Nefertiti

4 Petits Machins (Little Stuff)

5 Miles Runs the Voodoo Down - Miles Davis feat. Wayne Shorter, Bennie Maupin, John McLaughlin, Chick Corea, Joe Zawinul, Dave Holland, Harvey Brooks

6 Little Church

7 Black Satin

8 Jean Pierre

9 Time After Time

10 Portia

Send a Message

An email will be sent to the owner

Contact the Mousehole...

Follow Me