R.E.M. ~ Automatic for the People

R.E.M. ~ Automatic for the People

R.E.M. ~ Automatic for the People

Widely considered to be one of the best albums of the ’90s, 1992’s Automatic for the People followed R.E.M.’s breakthrough album is now released on R.E.M.'s new label Concord. Beloved by critics, the band’s eighth studio album topped charts worldwide, and was certified 4x platinum in the US. Features iconic hit singles “Nightswimming,” “Man on the Moon” and ’90s anthem “Everybody Hurts.” Certified at 4 million units by the RIAA.

Not quite as flawless as a masterpiece should be--what's the slight "New Orleans Instrumental No. 1" doing among such remarkably grounded material?--Automatic For The People still deserves its reputation as one of REM's best. Another link in the band's chain of 90's classics, it hits each mood--the glum teen-spirit report of "Drive", the sensual wash of "Star Me Kitten" and the gorgeously transcendent "Find The River,"--perfectly. Fittingly, Michael Stipe's lyrics are among his most coherent and empathetic. This will be recalled, and listened to, as a great work long after REM have packed it in.

1 Drive

2 Try Not To Breathe

3 The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite

4 Everybody Hurts

5 New Orleans Instrumental No.1

6 Sweetness Follows

7 Monty Got A Raw Deal

8 Ignoreland

9 Star Me Kitten

10 Man On The Moon

11 Nightswimming

12 Find The River

Send a Message

An email will be sent to the owner

Contact the Mousehole...

Follow Me